Just Harried

Little Harrys on the Prairie

What the Heck Did I Eat in January? Part IV

This is the post I’ve been most excited to write.  It’s just going to be four simple lists: what I ate, what I didn’t, what I had when I slipped up, and what regrets I have about the experience.

What I Ate

What I Didn’t Eat
This is what I would have had if it weren’t for this challenge – foods from specific occasions I know I chose not to eat.

  • Countless diet soft drinks
  • Splenda in my coffee every morning
  • Dessert, rolls and suspect sauces/pasta dishes at several work meetings
  • Lots of wine and beer
  • Sweet treats at several ribbon cutting events (work)
  • Sushi rolls drenched in tempura and mystery sauces
  • Fried items at restaurants
  • Brownies with peanut butter chips
  • Jam and jellies
  • Bread crumbs
  • Prepared lunch meat
  • Tortillas
  • Celebration cake with my running club
  • Bacon wrapped weenies and saucy meatballs
  • Ice cream from one of my favorite local spots

My Cheats

  • Sushi (I though I was being good by avoiding tempura and sauces, but I learned later that sugar is normally added to the sticky white rice.)
  • Wine/beer on five occasions
  • Crumbies from my brownies, a scoop of peanut butter chips
  • A couple overdoses of almonds and dried berries, Larabars, and nut butters
  • Vegetables and pork loin at a work function that had added sugar
  • Pita bread, hummus, and spinach dip from unknown origins at a young professional social
  • Salad dressing three times (I learned that parmesan cheese or shredded cheese is a great substitute.)
  • 1/2 of a turkey reuben sammich
  • Korean food – there had to be some sugar in that sweet sauce and bulgogi
  • Sometimes I had more natural sugar per day than recommend, like an extra piece of fruit or extra dried crackberries, er, cranberries.

My Regrets

  • Nothing!  I don’t feel like I was deprived of anything.  Rather, I feel like I had the extra support to stay disciplined and make good food choices.
  • The little cheats I had, I was able to move on from them with more self-love because I knew I was so disciplined well over 90% of the time, and it was really great to reframe each day/situation into What Didn’t I Eat for a quick boost of positive reinforcement.  It was way more encouraging to think of what I declined to eat than to think about the small slip ups.

Next post: What the Heck Will I Eat From Now On?

Single Post Navigation

Leave a comment